Our Mandate 

The mandate of the Department of Transportation is to plan, design, construct or reconstruct, acquire, operate and maintain public transportation infrastructure in the NWT, including community airports, docks and the highway system, and to regulate and license individuals and vehicles operating in the territory.

The Department is responsible for a transportation system that consists of 2,200 kilometres of all-weather highway, 1,635 kilometres of publicly constructed winter roads, four ferry and ice crossings and 27 community airports.